PSM III assessment and certification from Launch The Professional Scrum Master III (PSM III) Assessment & Certification

PSM III assessment and certification from have announced some changes to their Professional Scrum Master (PSM) assessments and certifications. The changes are quite straight forward in nature. PSM II has been renamed to PSM III and what was previously PSP (Professional Scrum Practitioner) has been renamed to PSM II and made publicly available for the first time.

So in summary, there is a new middle level assessment, called PSM II. What was previously PSM II is now PSM III.

If you have PSM II already then you get an automatic switch to PSM III. If you had PSP already then you get an automatic switch to PSM II.

The assessment new assessment structure and levels are as follows:

PSM I – People who have passed PSM I, achieving certification, demonstrate a fundamental level of Scrum mastery. PSM I certificate holders prove that they understand Scrum as described in the Scrum Guide and the concepts of applying Scrum. PSM I holders have a consistent terminology and approach to Scrum.

PSM II – People who have passed PSM II, achieving certification, demonstrate an advanced level of Scrum mastery. PSM II certificate holders prove that they have an understanding of the underlying principles of Scrum and can effectively apply Scrum in complex, real-world situations.

PSM III – People who have passed PSM III, achieving certification, demonstrate a distinguished level of Scrum mastery. PSM III certificate holders prove that they have a deep understanding of the application of Scrum, Scrum practices and the Scrum values. Those who pass PSM III also have the ability to apply Scrum in a variety of complex team and organisational situations. This assessment includes essay based questions.

This change has been in the works for a long time. If you want to find out more about this, have a read of this post from Dave West at

I am very happy to see this clear way forward, with 3 easy to understand assessment and certification levels for Professional Scrum Masters looking to test their understanding and use of Scrum.

PSM III (the old PSM II) was very hard. The new PSM II (the old PSP) is much more achievable. If you have PSM I, its time to consider going for the new PSM II and testing your continued learning with Scrum.

What do you think? Let me know via the comments section below.

Share this Post

Comments 5

  1. This looks pretty cool. Earlier the concept of PSP was not very clear, like, how to achieve it.. now with this new structure, it looks simpler and achievable.

    1. mm Post
  2. I was planning to give my PSM II certification and was preparing for it reading recommended books and assessing my practical experience and today when I logged in to buy the certification I check the changes. I am bit confused as to what to plan and hope for, should I go ahead with it or wait for few people who take the assessment to shed some more light on the differences.
    The only thing cool is that we do not have any essay based questions in PSM II now. I feel the difficulty level looks still the same.

    1. mm Post

      Hi Mahaveer,

      The new PSM II (formerly PSP) has been around for quite some time now so no need to wait and see. The difficulty level is closer to PSM I than PSM III.

      Have a read of these posts for further tips on what to expect with PSM II:



      1. Hi Simon,

        Thank you for replying.
        Yes, I will surely go through the (useful) posts mentioned by you and will decide by this weekend.

        Mahaveer Jain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *